Sibbald Point Provincial Park

26465 York Road 18, R.R.#2, Sutton West, Ontario, Canada L0E 1R0

You are here Home  > Campgrounds >Sibbald Point Provincial Park

Address:
26465 York Road 18, R.R.#2, Sutton West, Ontario, Canada L0E 1R0
GPS:
44.32732, -79.32225
Telephone:
905-722-8061
Web:
http://www.ontarioparks.com/park/sibbaldpoint

For 130 years before this area became a park, it was home of the Sibbald family. Tour Eildon Hall, the 19th-century family manor, and visit St. George’s Church, the family church, near the shore.

In each of the campgrounds you will find amenities such as water taps and comfort stations with showers. Swimming, boating and the Eildon Hall Museum are only a short distance away.

Leave a review


Privacy
Location
Size
Quality
Facilities
Terrible
Site# 709
Reviewed by: Buggus
Camping Date: 2014-08-22
Comments: Don't bother with this campsite unless you are a partier or don't mind loud highway traffic, as it's adjacent to the highway. The description of the site is deceiving and needless to say, wasn't good for me or my small child.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Ok campground
Site# 320/318
Reviewed by: spinker45
Camping Date: 2014-08-02
Comments: This is a pretty nice and clean campground. As we booked last minute we did not have a choice of campsites. We got 318 and 320. 318 is a nice spacious site but next to the outhouse so it stunk to high heaven. 320 is an ok site not as big tho. These are quite a walk to the actual toilets/showers. We were in a radio free area but heard many people partying and kids going nuts until well after midnight. Overall not that peaceful of an experience. Tonnes of foreign people. The beach was packed and just not sensible at all to try and go to it. I don't think I would return to this park.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Good Family Spot
Site# 105
Reviewed by: Varc
Camping Date: 2013-08-09
Comments: Site 105 had room for three 6 man tents and a dining tent. Situated right beside an open grassy field and small playground it was great for those who have kids that still enjoy using playgrounds as you could keep an eye from them while sitting at the campsite. The only problem we had was a few groups of people set up volley ball and cricket games close to our site in the field and we had to ask them to keep it down. Overall a good spot, would not recommend the beach at Sibbald Point....murky water and very busy.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Great time!
Site# 129
Reviewed by: Hutchden
Camping Date: 2013-07-12
Comments: We have been to several provincial parks. In our 20s we went backcountry camping, in our 30's we did tents in walk in sites, now we have a kid and a dog and decided we need a pull up site. I was very eerie about this as you want private, you don't want too small, you want to feel like you are camping in the woods, not someone's back yard but we took the leap and LOVED sibbald point. We are use to creating our own spots to swim, or find our own fun, so for a camping place this was awesome and every night they had something on for the kids. and the dog beach! what a great idea, we were worried one of us would always have to be at the site with our dog while the other one went to beach with the child - but we were all able to enjoy the day. It's large, its clean, the people were great, i highly recommend it - we are also going back in September.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Awesome
Site# all of them
Reviewed by: Gaff goes Camping
Camping Date: 2011-08-19
Comments: I have read other reviews on here and I just want to say I have camped all my life at Sibbald Point and I love it. ok I don't use the outhouses they are very old... but the washrooms are clean the showers are hot. and you make your own fun I swim in the water it's a lake its not like they can purify it. they do have activities for ppl / kids movies,hikes,nature days. I would reccamend this campground to anyone
Pros:
Cons:
 
An okay camping experience
Site# 305
Reviewed by: musicgold
Camping Date: 2011-08-19
Comments: We heard about Sibbald point from many people but kind of disappointed after the fact. The campsite was good in terms of privacy. The service stations and water points are good. However there is nothing else to do in the park. The beach is a joke. Hundreds of people were crammed on the beach and the structure of the beach is strange. It seems the whole beach is for kids. The water was full of some green stuff and the sand was more like mud. So we did not go into the water. The boating area is private so we couldn't do anything there. There is only one trail ( I think). The trail was good. There is one small museum, which is also good. Overall nothing to write home about.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Not a family campground
Site# 840
Reviewed by: famof5
Camping Date: 2010-08-20
Comments: We stayed here this weekend and were surrounded by domestic disputes and till 3am. There was no one patrolling for excessive noise except at 3pm, and I think on the Friday night at 8pm was the last we saw of them. The campsite was small and super open to all the neighbours. There is radio free camping which I would highly recommend as we did not have one ounce of peace. Camping is supposed to be restful but we did not find it to be this way here. The bathrooms are fairly clean the outhouses were smelly with huge spiders in them. As my daughter put it they are called outhouses because you don't want to go in them. I would not recommend this campground for families.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Party at Sibbald
Site# 814
Reviewed by: kimberly.hopkins
Camping Date: 2010-06-25
Comments: This campsite has decent privacy from other sites, but is wide open to the road. It's also at the edge of the park, so you can hear cars and people walking right behind the site outside the park. We also had very brazen skunks and raccoons trying to steal our food while we were sitting by the fire. The bathrooms were pretty clean, however the showers were scalding hot. This park has a pretty sweet beach and boat launch, however much of it was covered in goose poop. Definitely more of a party campground than a family campground -- lots of police presence.
Pros:
Cons:
sibbaldPoint814
 

Comments are closed.