Sandbanks Provincial Park

R.R.#1, Picton, Ontario, Canada K0K 2T0
You are here Home  > Provincial Parks >  Sandbanks Provincial Park

Sandbanks Provincial Park

Sandbanks Provincial Park has the world’s largest baymouth barrier dune formation. There are three expansive sandy beaches that some say are among the best in Canada; Outlet Beach is perfect for families, with shallow waters and gentle drop off.

This park is a bird migration hotspot in spring and fall, with walking trails that allow visitors to experience the dune and wetland habitats of the park.

Enjoy daily interpretive programming for the whole family during summer months. Sandbanks is a great starting point to explore Prince Edward County known for its bicycle touring, wineries, food and antiques.


Details

Water / Electric

Yes

Tent Sites

Yes

Open From

April

Closed On

October

Visa

Mastercard

American Express

Debit

Cash


Amenities

Accessible Facilities

Beach

Boat Launch

Cable TV (at site)

Campfire Wood ($)

Campfires Permitted

Comfort Station

Controlled Access (Gated)

Dumping Station

Fishing

Golfing

Group Camping

Internet (WiFi at site)

Laundry Facilities

Pet Friendly

Playground

Propane ($)

Pull-thru Sites

Games Hall

Restaurant / Snack Bar

Convenience Store

Swimming Pool

Hot Tub

Planned Activities / Events



Leave a review

Camping Date

Privacy
Location
Size
Quality
Facilities
don't go unless you want a ticket
Site#
Reviewed by: sathesh
Camping Date: 2015-06-22
Comments: Me, my wife and my child went to sand banks beach for a day, to spend our 5'th year wedding anniversary. As soon as i was at the booth to buy a permit the booth in-charge was not there (may be he went to the bathroom or lunch). so I wanted to go to the next booth. I couldn't back up due to another car behind me, so I moved forward let them pass me and went 150 meters and made a turn on the intersection towards the exit rout and tried going out of the park so I can go to a different booth. I got pulled over by a park warden and was asked why I had made a U turn. I told him because they have a board that "All personnel beyond that point needs a valid permit" and I don't have one. He said I should have ignored the board and should have gone straight and should have found a parking lot to make a turn. So he said he was going to give me a ticket for U-Turn, but when I pointed out that there is no board that says U-Turn is prohibited, he called a couple of more wardens and discussed with them for 1/2 an hour and wrote a 85$ ticket for "turn not in safety 142(1). There was no vehicle that was interrupted because of my turn and there was no collision. I hired a lawyer from Toronto to fight the ticket because i don't want to pay higher insurance for the next 3 years. Lawyer costs me a 1000$ plus HST. I don't trust any lawyer from around there as I heard a lot of them from that area not showing up for the case after taking your money. I also discussed with campers from the park and they said they were constantly harassed by these park wardens. The beach itself was good but the wardens are assholes.
Pros: very good beach
Cons: asshole park wardens, washrooms are very bad especially for women and kids (according to my wife).
 
Sandbanks Annual Family Trip
Site# 633
Reviewed by: Victoria Aug 23-29
Camping Date: 2015-08-23
Comments: Family friendly campsite in woodlands. large enough to accommodate 2 large tents and 1 shelter over the picnic table, 5 bicycles and park 2 vehicles.This is our second year back to sandbanks. We just love the beaches, and so does our German Shepherd. We enjoyed cycling to the various beaches. Town is close by to run in for amenities and food, as well as rainy day trips. Camp cafe has ice cream and serves some fries, burgers, hotdogs, pizza, salads.
Pros: Across from comfort station, family friendly campground. Bathrooms are cleaned twice a day.Tree coverage provided shade and some coverage from rain. Quiet in the evenings.
Cons: Camp store a little overpriced. eg. $8.00 for bacon, $4.00 for a loaf of bread. Better value to run in to town (picton) to pick up food & amenities. Husband did not like the light from the comfort station at night as it lit up our tent a little bit, as our tent was closer to the road but with kids we didn't need a night light.
 
Sandbanks But Thats All
Site# 298
Reviewed by: Michelle
Camping Date: July,2,3,4
Comments: I'd rate this park 5/10, but thats me. It's not really suitable for trailers, small sites. Roads in Cedar section were full of huge potholes. We had a lot of very loud people at all sites around us, but things did settle by 11pm. I did not like worrying about poison ivy found on our site and throughout the park. I did not care for the Outlet or Sandbank beach. Not a big fan of swimming in the Great Lakes, however the Dunes Beach was nice but you had to climb the huge dune to get in and out of the lake. We didnt see much along the line of wildlife at this park, not too many birds or critters. The park store was ok, but the nature centre was disappointing. I would not return, but it was nice to see and stay for just 3 nights.
Pros: Sand dunes and nice trails, staff friendly.
Cons: Public access to beaches and park, overcrowding, litter, messy comfort stations at beaches. Park needs better signage throughout!!
 
Not for a trailer
Site# 227
Reviewed by: kirby the camper
Camping Date: 2014-08-23
Comments: There isnt a flat spot on this site, and its certainly not set up for a trailer. The oneway loop doesnt work for a trailer. I had to turn around against the oneway, then back in. Its really tight for a trailer driving the loop, as well as on the site. The site is close to the water tap. there is some isolation from your neighbours.
Pros:
Cons:
Sandbanks227
 
Beautiful Covered Lot
Site# 690
Reviewed by: Stephen Webb
Camping Date: 2014-06-07
Comments: We just returned from three days at Sandbanks, lot 690. This lot was a tree covered corner lot. The ground was completely covered in leaves. It was reasonably private from the back, but completely open on the three sides. If you are looking for privacy then don't book this site. Traffic on the road wasn't heavy, and the site is very close to the bathroom and showers. There is also a water tap right on the site itself. Overall we really liked the site. It has electricity. We'd book it again for sure.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Nice pull thru...
Site# 165
Reviewed by: kirby the camper
Camping Date: 2014-06-29
Comments: Pretty good site. Water would run away from your tent/trailer, as pull thru area is elevated. You don't see much of your neighbours, although they are close. Short walk to the beach and comfort station. Site has electricity, and some poison ivy. Check out our video on youtube...search Sandbanks Provincial Park - Campsite 165 http://youtu.be/2VS5eterSf8
Pros:
Cons:
sandb_165
 
buggy
Site# 81
Reviewed by: camper
Camping Date: 2014-05-30
Comments: this was our first time at Sandbanks. the site had good privacy and a good amount of shade, however it was extremely buggy due to the collection of old leaves on the ground. at night it was almost unbearable even with the fire, bug spray, etc. will definitely be booking a sand site the next time!
Pros:
Cons:
 
Great family fun!
Site# 69
Reviewed by: campy mccamperson
Camping Date: 2013-08-17
Comments: We were lucky to book a campsite last minute. The site we ended up with was perfect for our family. The site is big but split onto two levels. The top portion can fit 3 shelters but it would be snug. The bottom portion could fit one tent and cars. We used the top portion with two shelters and it was very spacious. We could see right into our neighbours site but we were far from them so it was still private. The top portion was also very far from the road so we didn't need to worry about little ones. The outhouse was across the street which was convenient with the kids. We could smell it at times but it wasn't overly bothersome. There was a path through the back of the site right to the comfort station and beach. I wish we could have stayed for a week!!
Pros:
Cons:
 
very large and nice located
Site# 161
Reviewed by: boomiec
Camping Date: 2013-07-21
Comments: site holds full tent and kitchen tent with full electric. very near a full shower setup and 4 to 5 mins walk to the beach.! recommend this site especially if you need power
Pros:
Cons:
 
Small but OK
Site# 146
Reviewed by: trijo
Camping Date: 2013-07-14
Comments: The site was pretty small with a slope which was the only place the tent could lay flat. We were on the other side of one of the main roads heading into camp so the road noise was loud in the evening. The 'June bugs' were insane!! Kids didn't want to come out of the tent for a while. Word of advice - have the brightest light farther away to keep the bugs there. The 'washroom' was across the street and in my opinion not usable. It was 'cleaned' twice a day but they would spend about 1 minute per washroom. Not my idea of clean! We always walked to the comfort stations which had lights and running water. The beach was beautiful, clear and mostly clean. Kids loved it. Water was pretty warm but cool enough to be refreshing.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Good electrical site at Sandbanks
Site# 170
Reviewed by: jennyro
Camping Date: 2013-06-29
Comments: We stayed at the Sandbanks Outlet A site 170 over the July 1 weekend. It is one of a few electrical sites in the Outlet area. This site is a long pull-through site. It has enough trees for good coverage. One problem (as with most of the outlet sites) is poison ivy. It borders the site and may be a problem if you have young kids. Easy walk to the beach and comfort station.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Tight Squeeze!
Site# 113
Reviewed by: kirby the camper
Camping Date: 2013-06-30
Comments: Little bit of a tight squeeze to back a trailer in, but once you do, the site is great. Its pretty close to both 114 and 67, but that was fine as my brother and sisters families were on those sites. the site does have a steep slope between 113 and 114. This site is close to the beach, comfort station and water tap, on a paved road.
Pros:
Cons:
sandbanks113
 
close to washrooms, showers and walk to beach
Site# 178
Reviewed by: lonners
Camping Date: 2012-08-06
Comments: this was a pretty nice spot, it was busy because it was across from the main shower facility, but it wasn't bad at all. it was a short walk to the beach. i would recommend this spot for tents or smaller trailers
Pros:
Cons:
 
wasn't crazy about it
Site# 174
Reviewed by: lonners
Camping Date: 2011-08-01
Comments: This campsite had a bit of a hill..so it didn't leave a lot of space to put up your tents. It was close to the washrooms and reasonably close to the beach
Pros:
Cons:
 
Very happy with this site
Site# 53
Reviewed by: woodman
Camping Date: 2012-08-29
Comments: Generously sized wooded site on a quiet loop. About 200 metres from the water. Sites 44-57 are similar and of good quality. Site 51 may have some toilet stench in bad wind. Site 40 would be a good for a group of young people, it's quite deep with a forest at the back, and might be good for smoking pot without drawing attention.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Amazing time yet again!
Site# 358
Reviewed by: Ashley
Camping Date: 2012-09-01
Comments: This was my second time at Sandbanks and it did not disappoint. Beautiful, spacious, private site and right next to the water tap and privy. Not too far to walk to the comfort station either. Incredible beaches, hiking trails and wineries close by. Best campsite in Ontario!
Pros:
Cons:
 
No shades, no privacy
Site# 716
Reviewed by: seasonal camper
Camping Date: 2012-08-17
Comments: The size is quite large, no tree no privacy but it's pretty close to the washroom and the water. It's around 2.5 km to the park store (parking lot 6 and 7). The worst site I've ever had.
Pros:
Cons:
 
On the Beach!
Site# 30
Reviewed by: Kitkat
Camping Date: 2011-08-08
Comments: We had the pleasure of getting this site for 3 nights in August 2011. We had the most amazing weather so it was a great beach vacation. You can't see the water directly from the site, a dune separates it from the beach which makes it nice and sheltered when the wind picks up! Lots of sand and mostly sun. Long site, but open to site 28.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Better than expected
Site# 682 Woodlands
Reviewed by: Canoe2fish
Camping Date: 2011-08-22
Comments: We stayed here for almost a week and would go back again. The site was better than the rating the PP gave it. The site across from us was nice and even more private (site 681) The comfort stations were well taken care of and there was never a big lineup at the showers considering the park was full. The park store was very well equipped. The park is great for young families, quiet at night (enforced with fines) - this is a great beach vacation spot without the party crowd (AKA Sauble or Wasaga). Our site was central to all 3 beaches, but only walkable to the main beach. Be careful selecting your site in this park as some sites are in open fields. There are some choice sites with a beach view if you like camping in the sand. (non-electric, no privacy). There's tons to do in the area and shopping only 15 mins away.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Cool Site
Site# 684
Reviewed by: Smokey
Camping Date: 2011-06-15
Comments: Great site with full shade, close to facilities and quite private.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Big site, with electricity.
Site# 161
Reviewed by: kirby the camper
Camping Date: 2011-07-01
Comments: This is our second year staying on this site for Canada Day weekend. Great site, and this year they added electricity to this site, and the others around it. We don't generally need/use electricity, but if you need it, its there. Site has a few roots, and levels to it. Not likely very good for a trailer. Close to the beach, and the comfort station.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Hot Hot week in July 2010 at Sandbanks
Site# 213
Reviewed by: Cliff Clavin
Camping Date: 2010-07-12
Comments: We went middle week to sandbanks from july 12 to 15th 2010 i believe it was. our camp site was one of those ones that you park your car on the side..and walk up the hill into the site. its small but surrounded by trees so a bit of privacy even though you are up on top of the camp site. it was a short 5 minute drive to the main wash stations and probably 7 to 8 minutes to the main beach. weather was steaming hot 40 plus and there isnt much air in this site for keeping cool. the site was clean...water was by tap about 4 sites away. kybo was 5 sites away. i didnt mind the site but it wouldnt be my first choice again. luckily we had a tent that was not to big and all there was besides was a picnic table. you could not have put another tent with another couple in this site. its for 2 only.
Pros:
Cons:
 
First Trip of the Summer
Site# 642
Reviewed by: Smokey
Camping Date: 2010-06-15
Comments: Great privacy, close to all the facilities. Everything about the site was great.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Another great site
Site# 165
Reviewed by: tmarion70
Camping Date: 2010-06-30
Comments: nice weekend camping. Not too noisy, good for biking, fishing, and beachtime. Fairly close to everything. Two entrance/exits, one one either side. Quite a bit of poison ivy, so you have to be careful when travelling site to site if you are with a group. Would def. use this site again.
Pros:
Cons:
SandBanksSite165
 
Canada Day 2010
Site# 161
Reviewed by: kirby the camper
Camping Date: 2010-07-01
Comments: Another great site at Sandbanks. Lots of room. A few roots to trip over if you aren't careful. Could not likely put a trailer on the site. Enough room for a large tent and dining shelter. Pretty close to the beach and to the comfort stations.
Pros:
Cons:
SandbankSite161
 
Canada Day 2010
Site# 163
Reviewed by: jennyro
Camping Date: 2010-06-30
Comments: Great site! 163 is a very large and private site with good flat areas for any type of camping equipment. We fit our tent trailer and a large shade shelter with plenty of extra room for playing!
Pros: It has good areas of both sunshine and shade. It is also a short walk to the beach.
Cons: Poison Ivy!! There was poison ivy all along the perimeter of the site. Not a problem is you stay away but it may be hard to keep smaller children out of it.Also the closest washroom is a bit of a walk-
 
Canada Day 2010
Site# 164
Reviewed by: Keeper
Camping Date: 2010-06-30
Comments: Great site which offered sun, shade, privacy - surrounded by trees and it is up on a hill so was above the site beside this one and has flat ground for a large tent. Best of all it is a very short walk to the beach and the comfort station as well. The water tap is right behind this site. Watch out for the poison ivy which is all around this campground
Pros:
Cons:
 
Not as bad a review!
Site# 709
Reviewed by: jennyro
Camping Date: 2010-05-21
Comments: This is a great campsite if you are going when it might be a bit cooler. There is plenty of morning/early afternoon sunshine. Not bad for privacy - but you can certainly set up your campsite to maximize it. There is no one behind you at all so lots of space!
Pros:
Cons:
 
My 630 Review
Site# 630
Reviewed by: dougarmstrong
Camping Date: 2009-07-01
Comments: Great site if you're afraid of the dark and have a bad bladder. This site was right on top of the comfort station that had a bright orange light that was in our eyes all night long. Tall trees made for some good shade if you had a month of solid sun. We had a few days of rain that made this wooded area very damp and with the sun we had didn't dry it up. No privacy and not a walking distance to any of the beaches.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Great Woodland site!
Site# 620
Reviewed by: kirby the camper
Camping Date: 2009-06-07
Comments: This year our group decided to try camping in the Woodland campground to get electricity…what a great choice. Our site was excellent, even during the heavy rain. It was slightly elevated, so the rain ran off the site. Great trees in the campground. The water tap was in front of the site…some might consider it a negative, but it was handy. I look forward to booking the site again.
Pros:
Cons: Only negative was the distance to the beach.
sandbanks620
 
Camping under the big top
Site# 621
Reviewed by: Keeper
Camping Date: 2009-06-26
Comments: For a change we camped at the Woodlands camp ground this year. It has electricity, paved roads and lots of big trees. The site was big, but not a lot of privacy, you could look through the trees and see what your neighbours where doing. It was okay for us because we had friends on both sides. This particular site was very shady, it would be ideal if the weather was hot, then it would provide escape from the hot sun. The trees continue to drop rain, long after the rain has stopped! It is a short bike ride to both the Dunes and the Outlet beach.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Isolation in a busy park!
Site# 143
Reviewed by: kirby the camper
Camping Date: 2008-07-01
Comments: This is a great site if you are looking for a little isolation. You can't see the site from the road. There are lots of trees. Our tent was on an elevated part of the site. Good thing because we had lots of rain. Just remember, you have to carry all of your gear up some stairs to the site.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Nice Tent Site
Site# 144
Reviewed by: garnita
Camping Date: 2008-07-01
Comments: Great site for tenting with the upper level well shaded near fire pit. Trailer in lower level is very close to road and fully exposed to the sun.
Pros:
Cons:
 
fun again!
Site# 130
Reviewed by: tmarion70
Camping Date: 2008-07-07
Comments: Camped here last year and enjoyed it so we rented the same one again. We'll go back in '08' as well.
Pros: -close to potty -close to showers -good privacy -good for bikes -not too far from beach -sun and shade
Cons:
 
good times
Site# 130
Reviewed by: tmarion70
Camping Date: 2008-07-06
Comments: We loved this site. both sun and shade. Close to the potty and the "REAL" bathrooms. good closed loop for families camping together with kids. They can ride their bikes around and around... Not too far from the beach but far enough that you don't have to worry about little ones wandering off into the water.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Great site
Site# 127
Reviewed by: jennyro
Camping Date: 0006-07-12
Comments: This is a great site at the Sandbanks. Large and shady. If you have friends - it is close to 126. A bit of a walk to the beach and the showers.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Great site - close to the beach
Site# 111
Reviewed by: jennyro
Camping Date: 2006-07-01
Comments: This is a great site for families at the Sandbanks. It is a nice shady private site. It is close to the showers and a short walk to the beach. Highly recommend!
Pros:
Cons:
 
Huge Corner Lot
Site# 136
Reviewed by: salty
Camping Date: 2007-07-12
Comments: We love this site and are planning to return this year. It abuts a natural valley where the kids run, play and swig from ropes in the trees...be aware of poison ivy, lots of it found in the areas off the paths. A short walk to the beach, showers, water stations and outhouse.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Returning for a 3rd year!
Site# 142
Reviewed by: Keeper
Camping Date: 2007-07-01
Comments: We love this site. It is large, surrounded by trees, is near a water tap and the outhouse is not too far away. We camp with a large group of friends during Canada Day Weekend, we all book sites around this particular loop. The kids ride their bikes from site to site and we never worry about traffic as it is one way and goes slow. The beach is amazing.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Great site at Sandbanks
Site# 150
Reviewed by: kirby the camper
Camping Date: 2006-09-15
Comments: Fall camping at sandbanks is great. Our site was on a one way road, so there was akmost no traffic. Great for the kids. Sandbanks was quiet, which was a nice change from Canada Day Weekend, which is the other time I have camped there. No issues with our site. I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Great site at Sandbanks. Canada Day!
Site# 139
Reviewed by: kirby the camper
Camping Date: 2007-06-29
Comments: Camped here Canada Day, and it was great. Site is elevated, so we had no issues with the rain. Site is private. Kids rode their bikes around the loop all weekend. Minimal traffic. Beach is fantastic.
Pros:
Cons:
 
Too much traffic.
Site# 128
Reviewed by: kirby the camper
Camping Date: 2006-06-30
Comments: Site is ok. It is elevated at one end, and has some shade. The problem with the site is that it is on one of the main roads to the beach, and it is right across the road from an outhouse.
Pros:
Cons:
 

Comments are closed.